The Blogger Paradox

For every moment I spend telling the world about my journey, is one moment less of doing the things I wish to tell the world about! It is my blogger paradox.

So many stories to tell; a seemingly endless stream of pictures to show off, but when I’m busy living I don’t have time to stop and blog about it all. It’s my personal paradox and it kills me.

A Writer lives inside of me and desperately needs the creative release that tends to supersede deep thought. The Writer, accompanied by the Photographer who wants to capture life’s fleeting moments sometimes from every angle to tell the stories. The doer in me wants to keep doing; living life to the fullest … never worrying about keeping track of it.

Nearly a year ago when we were preparing to move, I just couldn’t stop doing. We had six years to experience Japan, but it wasn’t enough. We went crazy trying to do everything that we had not yet done, all in a matter of months.

Countless hours spent outdoors enjoying the things that would soon disappear from our reach. There was no stopping us. We knew we were leaving the station for good and may never step foot on Okinawa again, which left us with no choice but to get our fill of the Rock.

Took pictures non stop, but never sat down to edit or write. Thousands of images piling up day after day. Ideas for stories, or clever little musings popped into my brain constantly and some even made it to scratch paper, but damn if I didn’t misplace most of it in the move.

Always thinking “How could I ever forget something so amazing?” and then before ya know it my memories have faded away and I’m left with little recollection of what I meant to say, what words I would have written. If only I had sat down and typed it when it was fresh in mind. Alas, too much time has now passed.

Lately, even when I try to sit and write a post about our been there’s and done that’s … I stop myself, I just can’t do it.

For every moment I spend telling the world about my journey, is one moment less of doing the things I wish to tell the world about!

–  It is my blogger paradox.

Written Aug 4, 2015

Leave a Reply

