A Fascinating Compliment and Simple Fried Chicken Recipe

My 8-year-old daughter may have just melted my heart and blown my mind simultaneously.

She takes the first leg of chicken and devours it. Brings me her empty plate to assure me the rest of the pieces are ready for serving (she’s my tester, bc she loves fried chicken!)

I asked, How was it? 

She said, It was fascinating! 

Odd choice of word I thought so I asked if she meant fantastic … Or fabulous.

She said No, I meant fascinating. 

 I replied, Why? Did you learn something from my chicken?

She said, Yeah, I learned you’re a great cook!

My heart instantly melted. But honestly my culinary ego needed that boost … lately my cooking has been a few too many failed experiments and not enough successes to make it worth while!

Really made me smile:)

Recipe for the Fried Chicken

Since she liked it so much I will use it again someday. Eye balling the amounts, I just threw it together no measurements and next time will add more salt and pepper. (Maybe even a bit of white pepper to the milk mixture for an extra smooth zing!)

The key was really the Presto Dual Basket ProFry. (Which we’ve had for years but rarely use because it uses an entire gallon of oil, but using it reminds me how quick and easy frying chicken can be and how perfectly crisp it turns out!)

  • Chicken pieces (leg, thigh, breast)
  • Unbleached Flour
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Garlic Powder with Parsley to taste
  • Milk or Heavy Cream
  • 1 egg
  • Ground Cayenne Pepper
  • Smoked Paprika
  • 1 Gallon Oil

Rinse Chicken. Preheat Pro-fryer to 350-375 degrees (*see note 1)

Whisk together the milk or cream with egg, Smoked Paprika, and cayenne pepper (add white pepper for more spice).

In a deep bowl (or zipper bag) mix flour and remaining seasonings to taste (salt, black pepper,  garlic powder with parsley *see note 2)

Coat chicken with flour, shake off, dip in milk, roll in flour again, shake off excess flour and add to fryer basket. Repeat until  baskets full; drop into the hot oil.

Optional: Cover with lid that comes with the Presto ProFry. I think it prevents splatter while helping cook faster.

After a few minutes give the basket handle a little wiggle to move the chicken around enough to settle into a good spot to finish frying. (*see note 3)

Serve with potatoes and veggies of choice. Enjoy!

Notes:

  1.  Small to Regular  size chicken legs or wings cook fast on 375 in 10 minutes or less. (I prefer smaller chicken pieces that cook faster and go farther.)  Remember the bigger the piece the longer it takes and the less you can fit in the basket! For instance, if you use giant pieces then adjust the temp to 350 and cook longer up to 15 – 20 minutes and only 1-2 pieces will fit per basket to fry properly.
  2. A few shakes (per approx 1 cup flour) of each seasoning is all I use. The less sodium the better, because the older I get the less salty taste I like but I do love my food to have a good flavor so I use plenty of garlic and peppers!
  3. Really big pieces may need turned over halfway way though cooking if the oil isn’t high enough to cover completely. (Even when fryer oil is filled to the Max Line this sometimes happens, that’s anther reason I prefer small pieces).
Leave a Reply

