Finally Shot that Giant Rodent!

Don’t we all have silly things we wanted from our childhood? Things that linger in the back of our minds … Moments we dreamed about but never happened …

If you read I Wanna Shoot this Giant Rodent, then you already know what a BIG DEAL this was for me!

I LOVE CAPYBARAS!

The attendant was so nice and offered to take this picture for me. We hung out with the Capybaras for an hour or more. Touching them is like petting a straw broom … but  they were truly sweet creatures! It was amazing.

I wonder what most peoples unfulfilled childhood wishes were … I’m guessing most aren’t as weird as mine!

Maybe most are cliche, like the Power Wheel they never got for Christmas or that trip to Disney World (… I’ve never been, and now that I think about it, I never got a Power Wheel either).


It was a big deal, and because it’s bizarre many people won’t understand why I wanted to meet a capybara, but it was a wonderful experience.

To top it all off, the Human Hand to Monkey featured image was significant because it was part of my last project submitted for Unit 6 during my studies at NYIP.

Not only that, but the entire experience marked the end of our six years in Okinawa. It was a bitter sweet moment, and at least one of my kids was there to enjoy it with me! Here’s a few pictures that didn’t make the final cut for the article but I love none-the-less!


Check out the Exotic Petting Zoo at the Southeast Botanical Garden article published on Okinawa Hai, July 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

